DOJ Issues Final Warning Against 29 Sanctuary Cities...December 8 Marks the Deadline
Connect with us


DOJ Issues Final Warning Against 29 Sanctuary Cities…December 8 Marks the Deadline

On the topic of sanctuary cities, the Department of Justice recently issued a warning regarding 29 jurisdictions’ sanctuary policies, which were in clear violation of federal immigration laws.

As a result, all jurisdictions were given a deadline to men the policies and save themselves some trouble.

The DOJ let officials in Illinois, Oregon, Vermont, and 26 cities and counties across America more, know they had “laws, policies or practices” that violate federal immigration laws, as per the Washington Examiner.

Consequently, all jurisdictions were offered an end-line: comply with Section 1373 of 8 U.S. Code by Dec. 8 or be sanctioned and lose their public safety grants provided under the DOJ’s Edward Bryne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program. The program itself is responsible for funding millions of dollars annually to encourage and improve local law enforcement.

Section 1373 does not allow local and state governments from practicing laws or policies that restrict communication with Immigration and Customs and Border Protection about “information regarding the immigration or citizenship status” of particular entities.

Attorney General Jeff Sessions explained that states, counties, and cities which won’t be able to overturn their violation of these federal laws, “undermine the safety of their residents.”

“We urge jurisdictions to not only comply with Section 1373 but also to establish sensible and effective partnerships to properly process criminal aliens,” Sessions said.

Among many, there was one city which received notification of their illegal actions was Washington, D.C., where Mayor Muriel Bowser laid out a policy for the city’s Department of Corrections, that read “employees shall not inquire about a person’s immigration status or contact (ICE) for purposes of initiating civil enforcement immigration proceedings.”

Aside from Illinois, Oregon, Vermont and the District of Columbia, these include the remaining jurisdictions which also got the letter:

Albany, N.Y.; Berkeley, Calif.; Bernalillo County, N.M.; Burlington, Vt.; Contra Costa County, Calif.; City and County of Denver, Colo.; Fremont, Calif.; Jackson, Miss.; King County, Wash.; Lawrence, Mass.; Los Angeles, Calif.; Louisville Metro, Ky.; Middlesex, N.J.; Monterey County, Calif.; Multnomah County, Ore.; Newark, N.J.; Riverside County, Calif.; Sacramento County, Calif.; City and County of San Francisco, Calif.; Santa Ana, Calif.; Santa Clara County, Calif.; Seattle, Wash.; Sonoma County, Calif.; Watsonville, Calif., and West Palm Beach, Fla.

At the beginning of the year, Sessions made sure to send out more of these letter to remaining jurisdictions across America.

Back in April, Sacramento, Chicago, Cook County, New Orleans, Philadelphia, Las Vegas, Miami, Milwaukee, and New York City were also warned about violating federal immigration law, thus a warning followed.

Then came Chicago, New Orleans, New York, and Philadelphia, as well as Cook County, Ill., which received a final warning on the matter, before direct action enters into force.

Right about the same time the warning letters were released, a federal judge issued an injunction trying to prevent the department from pulling $1.6 million from Philadelphia as a sanction of their disobedience and direct violation of federal laws.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *